Posted by: Darcel | December 4, 2009

Conscious Friday. The gift of Giving

“I can live without money, but I cannot live without love.”
– Judy Garland, actress

“Poverty is everyone’s problem. It cuts across any line you can name: age, race, social, geographic or religious. Whether you are black or white; rich, middle-class or poor, we are ALL touched by poverty.”
– Governor Kathleen Blanco

This is the time of year when people talk about giving thanks, spreading joy and Christmas cheer.
I know it’s something we should think about all through the year, and maybe we do. I always think about it more at this time of year.

Several times of year I go through the girls clothes and toys, and our things as well. Anything not being used, or played with in a long time, or outgrown we give away for free. There are two sites I love for this.
One is craigslist.com and the other is freecycle.org

I know that craigslist is international, I’m not 100% sure about freecycle.
Both are great sites for recycling items. If your a thrifty person you’ll love these sites. I’ve never had a problem with hand me downs, or used items.
I remember not long after Ava was born and our oldest Nakiah really needed some winter clothes. I searched freecycle and I received her entire winter wardrobe from that site. One lady gave me winter dresses that still had the tags on them!
When we lived in MN last year I got several bags of infant and toddler clothes together and posted them for free. The women who came to pick them up were so grateful. I remember my neighbor asking if I was sure I wanted to just give away all of the clothes, and I was.

I am a firm believer in what goes around comes around. Not saying we only do this because we want things given to us, but it feels so good to give to someone else who needs it more then we do.

Se’Lah is another one of those people, she is always thinking of others.
She is hosting some major giveaways over at her blog. She is also the host of Conscious Friday. Stop by and check them out!

Enjoy your weekend!

Responses

  1. Thanks so much for the kind words Darcel. I absolutely believe in sharing. It’s hard for me to accept that people shouldn’t live without the basic necessities in life.

    I also think it’s important to share love, even with strangers. It’s such an awesome feeling.

    One Love.


Leave a Reply

Categories

