Posted by: Darcel | November 4, 2009

Monkey Platters

I read about Monkey Platters from Sandra Dodd’s website.

We went to the store yesterday and Nakiah picked out her own green apples, and some bananas. I grabbed some pretzels, string cheese, sesame sticks, and pepperoni. I thought that would be enough to start us off.

Once we got home, the girls washed their hands and went to play. I cut up an apple, banana and placed the sesame sticks in the middle.
I sat the plate down and started munching, my dad came home and started munching, and then the girls joined in.

Ava went straight for the sesame sticks, and Nakiah dove into the apples and banana. She didn’t like sesame sticks a year ago, but now says she loves them.
The apples were a little tart for me, but Nakiah loved them and was proud that she had picked out the fruit she wanted.

We could not believe how they ate up almost everything off that platter.

Today I made them another platter with more fruit, cheese, and I put the pretzels through the cheese instead of toothpicks. I added some pepperoni to finish the platter off.

Once again they ate almost everything off the platter. In the past two days neither one of them have came up to me and said they were hungry. They eat with me all throughout the day, as they always have, but now I bring them these platters to munch on throughout the day.

Nakiah has said “thank you mommy!” every time I bring her a platter. She loves them!
Daddy also loves how well they’ve been eating since we introduced the Monkey Platter yesterday.

Responses

  1. I LOVE this idea , thank you for sharing šŸ™‚

  2. Very cool. So wonderful that they are eating such healthy choices.

    I usually have a bowl of grapes, some cheese, crackers, and slices oranges on the table when my daughter is hanging around the living room.


Leave a Reply

Categories

