Posted by: Darcel | August 19, 2009

The Ants Home

I know, why don’t I make up my mind already! I’m staying here. I like it over here for our unschooling blog. The scene is calming(to me)
I hope your not mad πŸ˜‰

Yesterday we were out walking, and it was really really HOT 90 something degrees. We stopped under almost every shade tree. At this particular one there were tons of tiny ants crawling all over the place. Nakiah grabs a stick and starts digging a hole in the dirt by the tree. I asked her what she was doing. Her response “making the ants another home”

She remembered seeing an ant hill a while back and she decided the ants needed a another home. Then she tried to lure them over to their new home by placing a trail of leaves and sticks from where they were to the hole. Of course Ava jumped in and helped. She grabbed a stick and started making her own ant home.
Ava used a different method for trying to get the ants into their new home. She started swatting at them with the stick. I think she was trying to scoot them over to the hole she had made. I sat back and truly enjoyed being in that moment with them.

Responses

  1. What a cool story!

    I’m pleased you decided to keep this blog too πŸ™‚

  2. I actually am very interested in the whole unschooling concept so it’s cool to keep both.

    Yeah!

  3. Walks like that are great!


Leave a Reply

Categories

