Posted by: Darcel | August 10, 2009

Here We Are.

It’s been a while since I’ve blogged here, but I’m happy to say that I’m back. Still w/out a camera, but that’s ok.
I had to take a step back and not focus so much on what they may or may not be learning. I mean they are 4 and 2 yrs old!
They are learning, and they are kids having fun, playing. That’s what they do, so I have calmed down.

I was going through some things and had an easier time posting on my other blog. The brake was well needed, but I’m glad to be back to my unschooling blog. I’ve missed it and I’ve missed visiting all of your blogs as well.

Today Ava asked me to wrap her baby to her back. She had her big floppy baby in one hand, and the homemade doll wrap in the other.
It was such a cute scene. I gladly tied the baby to her back in a ruck.
I fully expected her to ask me to take the baby off 10 minutes later, but she didn’t. She wore her baby all day long. She ate lunch, and played ate dinner and went to the park with baby. Our neighbor asked what she had around her waist and we explained. She looked at us kind of strange, lol.
Before we went up for bed, she went over to my stack of wraps and said “see, like yours” and pointed to her wrap with the biggest smile on her face.

Nakiah watched The Power Puff Girls, and she had her PPG shirt on. That was a major deal.
She played with her Vtech computer. She’s had that since her 2nd birthday. It was a present from my mom and dad. The girls love it. We’re thinking of getting Ava one just like it for Christmas this year.
It’s amazing to me how they have to have the exact same toys most of the time.

Nakiah wasn’t her usual busy self today. She lounged in front of the TV most of the day watching Dora, Diego, Lazytown and America’s Funniest Home Videos. Other than playing with her computer and Ava she was quiet and kept to herself today.
I see more and more of her personality coming out. She’s becoming more independent. Making more of her own choices. My baby is growing up! Can you believe she’ll be 5 at the end of this year? Where has the time gone?

After dinner the girls went outside to play with their friends JJ and Zsay. Running up and down the driveway, running around the cars, playing tag. Then the hubby’s took the kids to the park.
They came back at dusk. The girls came running up the driveway to me with their arms out screaming “mommy! mommy!” Seeing and hearing that never gets old.

Nakiah told me about the big mountain the built out of the sand.
That was the best part to her. She didn’t tell me about anything else. Ava told me how she had baby with her at the park, and in the swing.

Yup, it was a very nice day for being inside the majority of it. The high was 98/humid(felt like it was well over 100) and the pool wasn’t open today. Crazy I know.
We’ll have to get creative this week because we have rain coming the rest of the week.

I hope you all have a great week!

Responses

  1. Sometimes taking a step back is just what the doctor ordered!
    You only want the best for your daughters and it shows. All is well, hang on to that!

  2. How sweet that Ava wore her baby all day – and gosh – i had forgotten all about the power puff girls 🙂 My girls used to love them. Sounds like a nice easy day – hope that rain doesn’t last too long. xx

  3. Isn’t it cool to take a step back and watch our children play and have fun? So fascinating as unschoolers to know that they are learning all the time but it doesn’t need to be influenced or even observed by us!

    Sorry I haven’t been here for ages, I’m so behind with my blog reading. I will call back soon and catch up with your posts, but I just wanted to stop by now and let you know that I left you an award at my blog. No need to pass it on unless you want to but I just wanted you to know that I think your blog is great 🙂
    http://sunnydaytodaymama.blogspot.com/2009/08/awards.html


Leave a Reply

Categories

