Posted by: Darcel | July 14, 2009

Tonight

We were all sitting outside and we hear an airplane flying over us. Ava looked up and we watched it fly across the dusk sky.
Charles took the girls for a walk around the block, and I sat and talked with my dad on the porch.

It was a beautiful night. Stars lined the sky. I pointed out a few to Ava. I loved watching the look of wonder in her eyes as she looked up at the stars. Some were big, some were small and some seemed to be burning brighter than others.
Ava kept pointing out the biggest and brightest ones to me.
Charles chased Nakiah around the yard. I love the sound of her laughing.
She would stop once in a while to see if she could spot the lightning bug that caught her eye.

Remember catching lightning bugs when you were a kid?

Moments like these are memories I want to keep forever. I wish I could bottle them up. I would have a shelf of memories and moments in my life. Each one would have it’s own unique scent. Opening the bottle would take me right back to that time and place.

If only I could.

Responses

  1. Beautiful moments! These moments are one of the best things about being a parent 🙂

  2. I am looking forward, with great anticipation, catching fireflies this summer. Can’t wait!!! Thanks for the fond thoughts.


Leave a Reply

Categories

