Posted by: Darcel | June 29, 2009

The Simple Things & Deschooling

Lots of people talk about the simple things in life. I really saw it today watching Nakiah and Ava play.
It started this morning. They put as many clips as they could find into their Barbie dolls hair.

N: “yook mommy, isn’t she booful”
A: “yook at mine, mine booful too”

They ran around the couch for a few minutes downstairs. Chasing each other and giggling. I heard a lot of “you can’t catch me”

Turned the keyboard on and we danced to the different tunes.

We took the blocks out and made citites. We took turn stacking the Jenga blocks in different patterns.

The newest is watching them walk around on their tip toes. Whenever the mood strikes for them to become Ballerina’s. It’s so cute.

“we are boweena’s, and pwincesses”

We attempted to play Go Fish with our new Diego cards. Instead the girls sorted them and matched each animal in sets of 3. We talked about what each one was.

Nakiah says “we saw blue bird( blue macaw) and an iguana and lizards and frogs like Diego.”

The best part of the day so far for me, has been watching them run down the hall way and jump into the big pile of pillows and blankets on the floor.

While we’re playing outside Nakiah keeps jumping between the sun and the shade.
Saying it’s warm in the sun, and it’s cold.

I am enjoying the simple things more and more. I enjoyed them before. I enjoy them as I watch my kids grow and change. I am enjoying them more now because of what unschooling has brought to our lives in these 2.5 months.
I see life differently, myself, my kids, my husband, the world. Everything!

I think we , and when I say we I mean myself and my husband. We are still in the deschooling stages of our unschooling journey.
It’s hard because we grew up with grades, age groups, and learning through books and what someone else says you should know, how you should know it and when.

For me deschooling is being in the moment, enjoying the simple things, watching them play. There are more, but I would never get to my other points.

It has allowed me to see my oldest for who she is, not who I thought she should be.
I started seeing her differently when we had her evaluated for speech therapy. I’m not saying some kids don’t truly need speech therapy, but looking back I see now that Nakiah really didn’t need it.

We could’ve done what they did. We were able to stop in at any time and observe.
She would come home with crafts and I did some with her at home.
According to them she was doing really well.
She loved going too. She loved playing with the other kids and I think even the bit of structure.

It’s hard for me when she says she wants to go to school, that’s what we called it.
We did talk with her about being homeschooled at home with us before we decided to give it a go this year.
I’m learning to not take it personally and I ask her why she wants to go to school. She says I’m the teacher and she likes circle time.

So now we have circle time right here at home. She likes it. She also loves playing with the other kids in the neighborhood.
I’m thinking since she’s such a social young lady it would be great for her to have the routine of a playgroup, and I’ll continue to follow her lead from there.

We also noticed that within two weeks of us making the decision to unschool, Nakiah had a huge language explosion.
It’s amazing. She’s finally able to express what she’s been thinking all of this time. She doesn’t get as frustrated with herself when she can’t figure something out.
She is at the stage now where the question is always WHY?
We answer all of her questions until she is satisfied. She talks a lot now.

Ava dives right in to everything these days. She has no fear. She will get as close to a bug as possible to inspect it carefully. She loves fish and singing and dancing, and she repeats everything she hears.
She’s always looked up to her big sister and follows along with whatever she’s doing, but she for sure has her own personality, likes and dislikes. I like not worrying about where she is on this chart and figuring out preschool and if she’ll potty train and when.

I am enjoying following their interest and helping them along the way.
Some people think that unschooling is leaving your child to do whatever,whenever. I’ve learned that it requires more of me. I watch them play and I see all of the things they are learning through playing.
We say yes more, we don’t tell them no just because.
We are watching them be kids, we aren’t pushing anymore for what the public school system says they should know at this age.

They are children, having fun. I set up things for them because I know it will be fun, not because I think it’s educational. We are becoming their partners in life and it’s making a difference.
I can tell this is truly going to be an amazing journey.
I hope you’ll stick along with us for the ride.

Responses

  1. Hi! Thanks for your comment on my blog. Congratualtions on your decision to unschool, you will not regret it. We made the decision 3 1/2 years ago when our 7 year old was almost 4, and we haven’t looked back.

  2. I love the way the word “watch” has a deeper meaning once it is part of unschooling.

    You are so right. I find myself sitting in the same room as my 11 and 14 year old boys, just listening to their chatter. It’s lovely. More than lovely!

  3. I loved this post 🙂 We are starting out on a similar journey with our 2 year old, a second chance now that our older children have completed school. I have noticed big changes in James since I finally ‘got’ unschooling. Thanks for sharing this.

  4. @ meorthethoughtofme, thanks for posting that link. What a lovely blog 🙂

  5. I love your description of deschooling and the simple things. It is an amazing journey and I feel so lucky to be on this journey with sunnyboy.

  6. Check out http://www.homeschoolstylebytes.com

    She updates with very beautiful, inspiring and thoughtful quotes about homeschooling/unschooling.

  7. You are so right, it really is the simple things.

  8. It does sound like it is going to be a truly wonderful journey!


Leave a Reply

Categories

