Posted by: Darcel | June 22, 2009

1st day of Summer

And a beautiful day it was. We played with popsicle sticks. Nakiah made alphabets and houses out of hers, and Ava stacked hers.
It was fun playing with them w/out glue.

Then we cleaned up the backyard and got the pool out. The sun was out, we watched clouds and splashed in the water.

While Ava napped Nakiah helped me cook dinner. She helped me mix the cornbread and pour it.
We also made cupcakes after dinner. Nakiah said she loves helping me cook. That melted my heart.
The girls wanted to decorate cupcakes with sprinkles for the boys next door. They iced them and everything.
The girls said the best part was licking the bowl. That was always my favorite part of making cakes.

We ended the night playing with our friends next door. I love the sound of children running and playing. It’s music to my ears.

Responses

  1. Sounds blissful 🙂

  2. We love licking the bowl too!

  3. What a lovely way to kick off summer. If you see a strange rastawoman in the pool, it’s just me. 😉

  4. Aww… this is too sweet. I wish I was your neighbor ; ) Cupcakes are my favorite.
    xo

  5. That sounds like the perfect way to begin summer. I also love the sound of kids playing!
    Dropped by from SITS.


Leave a Reply

Categories

