Posted by: Darcel | June 19, 2009

Conscious Friday – Word Power

“Sticks and stones may break my bones, but words will never hurt me”

I used to say that all the time growing up. I learned it from other kids around the neighborhood.
The truth is that words do hurt. We must always, always think before we speak.
Not just to our children, but to everyone we come in contact with. These are real people with real emotions, and words do hurt no matter what they say.

Words have the power to lift someone up or tear them down. I’m sure we have all done both in our lifetime. The older I get, and the more I grow I realize the power of words. I have power over the words that come out of my mouth. What an amazing gift.

Please stop by Se’Lah’s Necessary Room for more Conscious Friday

Responses

  1. How true! Thanks for the reminder.

    I want to publicly thank you as well for joining in on Conscious Friday! It is so important for all of us to treat others more humanely. Thanks for doing your part in making our world a better, more conscious place for our children.

    Lovely!

  2. Oh this looks like a whole lot of fun

  3. What a thoughtful post! Thanks for sharing this 🙂

  4. Dora, Dora, Dora the explorer … 🙂
    Thanks for stopping by!

  5. Very true!
    Thanks for stopping by, your skywatching below was beautiful!!
    Warm greetings from Sweden,
    Esther

  6. Oh my, isn’t that the truth.
    Thank you for this thoughtful post!
    ; )


Leave a Reply

Categories

