Posted by: Darcel | April 29, 2009

Honey Buns

I’m new to unschooling, and I thought I was already one of those people who “gets it”. Well I’m not. I’ll tell you what I realized about myself today. I love to research. I love the unschooling way of life. I feel like a sponge, but a very heavy sponge. Sometimes I soak up way too much too fast. I feel like I have to know everything and execute it just so immediately. 

This morning Nakiah says she wants to go to school on the bus and play with the kids.
My heart sank. I was mad at myself for agreeing to put her in speech therapy. We called it school and she loved it. I want her to love school at home with me that much. As the day went on I realized we have always lived our life by some of the unschooling philosophies. 
So I am going to do what I’ve read so much about, and what we’ve always done. We are going to live life! I’m going to stop worrying about what they could possibly learn from doing this or that. I’m ready to just have fun and stop stressing.
I told Charles that I felt pressured by him. He said there was no pressure. We agree on some things, but not others. We do agree on living life and doing all of the activities we would normally do just because we want to hang out with our kids.


We went to Barnes and Noble today. I love going into that place. It’s so easy to let the time slip away. Ava was fascinated by all of the stuffed animals. She kept walking around randomly choosing ones to be her babies. Then Nakiah discovered the Dora full body backpacks. They both had to try one on. Nakiah wasn’t impressed, but Ava wore hers for at least 20 mins.

Nakiah always asks for Brown Bear when we go in there. We have the song on CD(gotta get that book).
I asked for a list of anything by John Holt for some light reading.
Ava loves the Gossie collections(also need to purchase some of these)
They made friends with another 4 yr old girl who came in. They would all get the same book, bring it back to the bench and read it. Too cute!
We may check out the storytime there next week.

The girls crack me up. They grabbed their purses ,walked down the hallway and told us they were going to the mall. I love to just watch them play. Ava does whatever Nakiah does. I went upstaris to check on them and Nakiah is stuffing puzzles pieces into her purse, Ava looks at her and does the same. She really looks up to her big sister. I’m glad they love each other and get along so well.
If Nakiah takes two steps and skips Ava will take two steps and skip. It’s really cute.

My dad comes home with honey buns. We love them! I warm them in the microwave for about 10 seconds. They are so good. It’s been a few days since we’ve had any in the house.  The girls ate theirs at theirs on the coffee table  and wacthed daddy play Xbox Live. I put the one up for the girls breakfast tomorrow.
I saved mine for later this evening. Mmm….love honey buns. 

Leave a Reply

Categories

