Posted by: Darcel | April 19, 2009

Awesome weekend!

We had a really nice weekend. We went to the beach and to Mount Trashmore Park. It’s a park that used to be a landfill. Imagine if we could turn every landfill into a park.

It was cloudy today, but 80 degrees. I thought I would dress a little warmer today because of how the temp dropped when we were at the beach the other day.
What happens today? We get to the park and it’s a bit humid at first. So here are my girls in jeans and long sleeved shirts. I’m a little annoyed now. I’ll try to remember the weather really is warmer further away from the beach.
It did end up cooling off in the end. Today I got to wear Ava in Eva. It was a great BWing weekend for me 🙂

Nakiah ran the Kids Cove area of the park for a long time. I think she really enjoyed running around w/out mom or dad 2 steps behind her. Charles did get up and follow her around every once in a while. Since Ava was sleeping on me I kept an eye on wear Nakiah was from my seat. She was so independent and having such a good time. She’s really growing up. I can’t believe she’s almost 4.5 yrs old!

Charles loves to skip rocks. We found a little spot on our way to the smaller park area.
He’s pretty good at it. He always talks about how much fun he had doing it as a kid.
Nakiah and Ava were “skipping” rocks too. LOL I wish we could’ve got it on video.
A nice older man pulled a kite out of the water for the girls. Nakiah wanted to fly it sooooo bad. Daddy couldn’t get it up, but Nakiah did. The look on her face. She was beaming. She really had that kite going. She was so proud.
She can’t wait to fly it at the top of the hill next time we go.

Saturday was really nice. We only live about 15 minutes from the beach. The temp read 80 in the car, we were driving with the windows down. Charles has this thing about a/c. You have to start dripping sweat once you step outside for him to want to turn it on.
Anyway as we’re driving we can feel the chill in the air, the temp starts dropping, 75-74-72. It was 70 when we finally parked and got out of the car.
You may think ” big deal” let me tell you, it is a big deal when the wind is blowing off of that ice cold water.

It was still beautiful though. It takes my breath away every time I’ve seen the ocean. That’s only been 3-4 times in my life. I can’t wait to be able to see it on a regular basis now.
The girls loved it. The couldn’t wait to start playing in the sand.
We got some great pics of them. I’ll post them later. I haven’t uploaded them to the computer yet.
I also got to wear Ava in our 2.94 Julia Didymos Rebozo style. She was asleep when we got there. I tied her up and walked the 3 blocks to the beach. We also took some pics once she woke up. I haven’t seen them yet, I hope they turned out!

The last great thing about our weekend…..we have strawberries growing in our backyard!!! I can’t believe it. Charles found them this morning while the girls were out there playing.
I thought it was a bunch of weeds growing by the trees. We noticed the pretty pink flowers the other day. On the other side of the tree by the fence, we have strawberries. Very cool! My dad says if they turn out to be any good we can make strawberry jam….yummy 🙂
I can’t wait to get pics of that process.
I’ll have to read up on taking care of strawberries. If anyone has any good resources, feel free to post.

Leave a Reply

Categories

