Posted by: Darcel | July 6, 2008

Living within our means

It’s easy for some people to do, but it’s hard for us. Or should I say it WAS hard for us. I don’t know why it took us so long to really believe that we don’t need stuff, we just want it. We realize that buying our kids stuff isn’t going to make them a better person. By stuff I mean, the latest and greatest toy, 20 pairs of shoes(I don’t even have that many pairs) Not saying it’s bad to buy your kids things, but for us all the best toys is not what’s important for our family. Of course we want them to have more and we want more, but what we are providing for them and ourselves right now is enough. We haven’t taken a vacation, ever. But we plan to next Christmas. It sucks that it will take us a year and half to save and afford this vacation, but it is what it is. I’m glad that I have a husband who wants to work and provide for us so that I can stay home with the kids. I am putting my two weeks in this week. I’ll miss the interaction, but I’ll find other ways to fill that void. For us me staying home with the kids is what’s most important. We can rent movies and go for walks, go to the park, and have a special family outing once a month. We want our girls to know there is more to life than the material things. It’s easy to get attached to the material things, but they aren’t going to last. I’m happiest when I relax and be me. Now I feel like I’m being true to myself and my family. It’s not like my working two days a week was really bringing in anything extra. I finally feel at peace, and like I can relax and enjoy my family, it’s a good feeling.

It was hard for us because we believed that we had to have what everyone else had or wanted. We believed the hype. Less is more in our case. We spent too much money eating out. Now we have a budget that works for us. I can’t believe how free I feel now. We don’t shop at Gymboree, never have and probably never will. I don’t think their clothes are all that anyway. I much prefer Children’s Place and Old Navy. Heck, I love Walmart and Target! You can get groceries and food in the same store 🙂
I’ve always been a bargain shopper. I guess it wasn’t so much that we were trying to keep up with other people, but we were trying to put on…I guess for ourselves, lol It’s sad because it wasn’t working and it was pointless. We were just making bad financial decisions. With the economy the way it is now, we really needed to step back and think about what is most important. Being able to sleep at night and feel good about ourselves because we’re providing our family with love and what we can afford is important. I wish it hadn’t taken us so long to figure it out.

Leave a Reply

Categories

